Another Year, Another Project List!

Now that the holidays are just about over, I have a bit of time to catch up on blogging. I know I owe y’all pics of the All Tied Up In Knots shawl, so here it is…modeled by its new owner, my friend J.

Jennifer1

The front of the shawl. There is a nice amount of overlap, so it can be held close with a shawl pin if needed.

edging

Closeup of the edging. The back filler and the edging are all one piece. For the back, I used three columns. I stopped at the center and continued the split with the two separate columns. This is just a simple twist cable, but the seam itself adds some texture and interest.

seamfiller

A closeup of the back. Three simple twist cables and an easy over/under seam stitch to connect the two panels with the middle.

Jennifer2

Here you can see the filler with the three columns. It also adds a little stretch, and the loose stitching allows it to breath so she won’t get too hot.

Jennifer3

Here is the front right panel. As you can see above, there are two repeats on each side, one front and one back. The Celtic Knot was designed by Becleigh Durham of Australia.

The Celtic Knot pattern is available on Ravelry or on Becleigh’s blog, The Thick Plottens. As you can probably tell, it took FOREVER to finish it! It is essentially four baby blankets and a scarf all sewn together, just to give you an idea of the time factor. However, I can truly say that I am now a post stitch MASTER!

With that out of the way, I can move on to new (and old) projects! Last night, I started on the “Plum’s the Word Shawlette” from Crochet! magazine. It’s only available to subscribers or CGOA members, as it is a web extra and is not published in the magazine.

Plum's the Word Shawlette

Plum’s the Word Shawlette as featured on the Crochet! magazine website.

I’m also working on a couple of original designs, so you’ll be seeing those later on this year.

I still have a few old projects to either finish or frog. I’m working on my son’s afghan that will likely be ready next Christmas. I’m also going to try to get some wedding wear done to post on Etsy. Most importantly, I need to take photos of all the other completed projects that I found lying around in my craft closet!

In between crochet work, I am organizing my craft studio, so you’ll be seeing pictures of before and after (prepare to be horrified!). I have a few chain maille projects lined up, and I need to create room for my daughter to work on her sewing projects. She received two sewing classes for Christmas, so she’ll actually know what she’s doing! Besides her sewing, I will be working on a simple strip quilt made from jelly rolls that I found at Big Lots, of all places! They were only $7.50 for each roll! This will be my first attempt at quilting, so wish me luck.

As we start the new year, I wish everyone joy and prosperity, and the energy and will to finish all of your UFOs (unfinished objects)!

 

Leave a Reply

