Friday On The Needles

Woke up this morning to a gorgeous snow day. Yes, I’m from the South, so snow is a complete novelty for me. I think it’s beautiful. This is a little dark because it was early in the morning, and the haze is actually snow falling.

christmastreeswithsnow

 

Anyway, since we’re homestuck (and I don’t mean the game), it’s a perfect day to have a cup of tea and wander around in my fluffy socks with the sticky dots on the bottom. Leigh has made me a beautiful room to nest in (she really did make it for ME!).

bed

Crocheted shawl on the back of the chair, and knitting bag in the seat, of course!

Today, I got up, made my coffee, took photos, helped Bill with breakfast, loaded the dishwasher, took a shower, and I’m finally sitting on my bed about to get back to work on the Simple Lace Scarf, which is incredibly easy…just three rows of lattice lace then four rows of knitting. It only takes a bit of concentration in order to remember to YO, K2TOG or K2TOG, YO. They alternate so that the lattice is actually slanted and pretty. I needed something simple to work on while we drove to Connecticut, and this fit the bill perfectly.

IMGP4483

I’m using a cashmere silk blend, so it’s soft and fluffy with a bit of squish. It’s not blocked yet so the lace isn’t quite as prominent as it will be. I doubled the width because I like my scarves wider than average, but that’s just me.

The snow is really coming down and  tomorrow is due to be record lows. My husband wanted me to really experience winter in the north to make sure it doesn’t affect my fibro and make it worse. Fortunately, I think my meds are exactly balance, plus getting away from the Hill Country Cedar was an instant fix for my runny nose.

This is my second full day here, and I’ve already accomplished tons!

One response

Leave a Reply

